Commonwealth of Australia Coat of Arms
For Peace, Order and Good Government: The first Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia
Early proposals
Six colonies
Drafting a constitution
Declaration of the Commonwealth
Conducting the first Federal election
Who could vote?
The election campaign
9 May 1901
The royal visit
The first federal parliamentarians
Ministry of May, 1901
Edmund Barton
Political parties
Legislative program
Relationship between the houses

Members of the First Parliament

Donald Norman Cameron

Donald Norman Cameron (1851-1931)

Member for Tasmania 1901-1903, Wilmot (Tasmania) 1904-1906


Donald Norman Cameron was born in Fordon, Tasmania. He was the elder brother of Senator Cyril St Clair Cameron. The brothers represented opposing groups in the first Parliament, Cyril supporting protection principally, while Donald was a supporter of free trade. Cameron was educated in Scotland and returned to Tasmania in 1870 to run his sheep property. Cameron held the seat of Deloraine in the Tasmanian House of Assembly in 1893 and again in 1897-99.

Cameron was elected to the House of Representatives for Tasmania in 1901 at the first federal election but lost the seat at the election of 1903. When Sir Edward Braddon died in 1904, he won the by-election for Wilmot but was again defeated in 1906. He was known as an energetic and forceful member of Parliament.

After leaving Federal Parliament Cameron represented Wilmot in the Tasmanian House of Assembly 1912-13 and 1925-28.

previous | list of members | next