Commonwealth of Australia Coat of Arms
For Peace, Order and Good Government: The first Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia
Early proposals
Six colonies
Drafting a constitution
Declaration of the Commonwealth
Conducting the first Federal election
Who could vote?
The election campaign
9 May 1901
The royal visit
The first federal parliamentarians
Ministry of May, 1901
Edmund Barton
Political parties
Legislative program
Relationship between the houses

Members of the First Parliament

Hugh de Largie

Hugh de Largie (1859-1947)

Senator for Western Australia 1901-1923

Born at Airdrie, Scotland, Hugh de Largie was a miner who became involved in the Scottish political labour movement before migrating to Queensland in 1887. He was active in union matters in Queensland and in Newcastle, New South Wales. Unable to work as a miner because of his political affiliations, he moved his family to the Western Australian goldfields in 1896, where he gained prominence in the Amalgamated Workers Union.

At the 1901 federal election, de Largie was one of two Labor candidates elected to represent Western Australia in the Senate. He represented his state until 1923 and served on a number of royal commissions and parliamentary committees, was Labor Whip in the Senate 1907-14 and Ministerial Whip 1910-13 and 1917-22. In 1916 he left the Labor Party as a result of the conscription debate and joined W.M. Hughes as a Nationalist.

previous | list of members | next