Commonwealth of Australia Coat of Arms
For Peace, Order and Good Government: The first Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia
Early proposals
Six colonies
Drafting a constitution
Declaration of the Commonwealth
Conducting the first Federal election
Who could vote?
The election campaign
9 May 1901
The royal visit
The first federal parliamentarians
Ministry of May, 1901
Edmund Barton
Political parties
Legislative program
Relationship between the houses

Members of the First Parliament

George Warburton Fuller

George Warburton Fuller (1861-1940)

Member for Illawarra (New South Wales) 1901-1913

George Fuller was born in Kiama, New South Wales and graduated from the University of Sydney. Called to the Bar in 1884, he was frequently New South Wales crown prosecutor. Fuller was elected to the Legislative Assembly of New South Wales as the member for Kiama in 1889 and held the seat until 1894.

Fuller, a Freetrader, was elected to the House of Representatives as the member for Illawarra in 1901. He was Minister for Home Affairs 1909-10 and was responsible for introducing the bill to make Canberra the federal capital. In 1911 he joined the Australian delegation to England for the coronation of George V. Fuller was narrowly defeated in the election of 1913.

Fuller returned to the New South Wales Parliament as the member for Wollondilly in 1915. He was Colonial Secretary 1916-20, and formed a coalition government in 1922, remaining Premier until his resignation in 1925. He continued as the member for Wollondilly until 1928. During his premiership his government was responsible for the Sydney Harbour Bridge Act (1922) and reintroduced the 48 hour week.

Fuller was knighted in 1919 and appointed New South Wales Agent-General in London in 1928.

previous | list of members | next