Commonwealth of Australia Coat of Arms
For Peace, Order and Good Government: The first Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia
Early proposals
Six colonies
Drafting a constitution
Declaration of the Commonwealth
Conducting the first Federal election
Who could vote?
The election campaign
9 May 1901
The royal visit
The first federal parliamentarians
Ministry of May, 1901
Edmund Barton
Political parties
Legislative program
Relationship between the houses

Members of the First Parliament

Samuel Mauger

Samuel Mauger (1857-1936)

Member for Melbourne Ports (Victoria) 1901-1906, Maribyrnong (Victoria) 1906-1910

Samuel Mauger was born in Geelong, Victoria, and moved in 1874 to Melbourne, where he was apprenticed as a hat manufacturer. A prohibitionist with strong evangelical beliefs, Mauger devoted his life to social reform. As a member of a wide range of associations, including the Metropolitan Fire Brigades Board (1891-1936), the Trades Hall Council and the National Anti-Sweating League of Victoria (which he helped found), and as a colonial and federal parliamentarian, he sought to improve conditions for working people. Mauger was elected to the seat of Footscray in the Victorian Legislative Assembly in 1899. Sympathetic to many of the policies of the Labor Party, he did not join the Australian Labor Party but remained a radical liberal and protectionist throughout his political career.

In 1901 Mauger was elected to represent Melbourne Ports in the House of Representatives at the first federal election. After a redistribution in 1906 he was elected to the seat of Maribyrnong which he held until his defeat in 1910. He was a minister without portfolio and Postmaster-General in the second Deakin Ministry.

previous | list of members | next