Commonwealth of Australia Coat of Arms
For Peace, Order and Good Government: The first Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia
Early proposals
Six colonies
Drafting a constitution
Declaration of the Commonwealth
Conducting the first Federal election
Who could vote?
The election campaign
9 May 1901
The royal visit
The first federal parliamentarians
Ministry of May, 1901
Edmund Barton
Political parties
Legislative program
Relationship between the houses

Members of the First Parliament

Pharez Phillips

Pharez Phillips (1855-1914)

Member for Wimmera (Victoria) 1901-1906

Pharez Phillips was born in Mount Blackwood, Victoria, and educated in Ballarat. A storekeeper and farmer, Phillips was a member of the St Arnaud and Borung Shire Councils, serving as president in both councils. He was a member of the Victorian Legislative Council for North-West Province 1896-1901.

In 1901 Phillips was elected as a Protectionist to represent the federal seat of Wimmera in the House of Representative at the first federal election. Ill health forced his retirement from Parliament and therefore he did not contest the 1906 election.

Having left politics, Phillips concentrated on commercial, industrial and mining enterprises. He was well known in the sporting world as a racehorse owner and often was a steward at horse racing events.

previous | list of members | next