Commonwealth of Australia Coat of Arms
For Peace, Order and Good Government: The first Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia
Early proposals
Six colonies
Drafting a constitution
Declaration of the Commonwealth
Conducting the first Federal election
Who could vote?
The election campaign
9 May 1901
The royal visit
The first federal parliamentarians
Ministry of May, 1901
Edmund Barton
Political parties
Legislative program
Relationship between the houses

Members of the First Parliament

Members for Queensland

<< Back to Map

Frederick William Bamford

Member for Herbert (Queensland) 1901-1925

Andrew (Anderson) Dawson

Senator for Queensland 1901-1906

James George Drake

Senator for Queensland 1901-1906

Richard Edwards

Member for Oxley (Queensland) 1901-1913

John Ferguson

Senator for Queensland 1901-1903

Andrew Fisher

Member for Wide Bay (Queensland) 1901-1915

Thomas Glassey

Senator for Queensland 1901-1903

Littleton Ernest Groom

Member for Darling Downs (Queensland) 1901-1929 & 1931-1936

William Henry Groom

Member for Darling Downs (Queensland) March-August 1901

William Guy Higgs

Senator for Queensland 1901-1906

Member for Capricornia (Queensland) 1910-1922

Thomas Macdonald-Paterson

Member for Brisbane (Queensland) 1901-1903

Charles McDonald

Member for Kennedy (Queensland) 1901-1925

James Page

Member for Maranoa (Queensland) 1901-1921

Alexander Paterson

Member for Capricornia (Queensland) 1901-1903

James Charles Stewart

Senator for Queensland 1901-1917

James Wilkinson

Member for Moreton (Queensland) 1901-1906