Commonwealth of Australia Coat of Arms
For Peace, Order and Good Government: The first Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia
Early proposals
Six colonies
Drafting a constitution
Declaration of the Commonwealth
Conducting the first Federal election
Who could vote?
The election campaign
9 May 1901
The royal visit
The first federal parliamentarians
Ministry of May, 1901
Edmund Barton
Political parties
Legislative program
Relationship between the houses

Members of the First Parliament

Francis Gwynne Tudor

Francis Gwynne Tudor (1866-1922)

Member for Yarra (Victoria) 1901-1922

Frank Tudor was born in Williamstown, Victoria and served an apprenticeship as a hatter. He worked as a hatter in Australia, England and in the USA, and became involved in union activities through his desire to improve conditions in the trade. Entering the Victorian Trades Hall Council as the Felt Hatters’ representative, he was President of the Council by 1900.

In 1901 Tudor was elected as a Political Labor Council candidate to the federal seat of Yarra in the House of Representatives. Tudor served in three Fisher ministries and the first Hughes Ministry as Minister for Trade and Customs. He resigned from cabinet in 1916 over the conscription issue. Tudor was elected leader of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party after the departure of Hughes. He was Leader of the Opposition in the House of Representatives 1916-22.

Ill health plagued Tudor in the last few years of his life, and he died in office in 1922.

previous | list of members | next