Commonwealth of Australia Coat of Arms
For Peace, Order and Good Government: The first Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia
Early proposals
Six colonies
Drafting a constitution
Declaration of the Commonwealth
Conducting the first Federal election
Who could vote?
The election campaign
9 May 1901
The royal visit
The first federal parliamentarians
Ministry of May, 1901
Edmund Barton
Political parties
Legislative program
Relationship between the houses

Members of the First Parliament

Thomas Brown

Thomas Brown (1861-1934)

Member for Canobolas (New South Wales) 1901-1906,
Calare (New South Wales) 1906-1913

Thomas Brown was born in Walla Walla, New South Wales. A farmer, his introduction to politics came when he represented Forbes at the first Farmers and Settlers’ Association Conference in 1893. In 1894 he won the seat of Condobolin in the New South Wales Legislative Assembly, which he held until he resigned to contest the federal election in 1901.

Brown was elected to represent the federal seat of Canobolas in the House of Representatives at the first federal election in 1901. In 1906, owing to the redistribution of electoral boundaries, he became the member for the new seat of Calare, which he held until he was defeated in 1913. Brown was a Labor Party member who supported free trade.

Brown returned to state politics in 1913 and represented the seat of Lachlan in the New South Wales Legislative Assembly until 1917. In 1917 he became secretary to Prime Minister Hughes.

previous | list of members | next