Commonwealth of Australia Coat of Arms
For Peace, Order and Good Government: The first Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia
Early proposals
Six colonies
Drafting a constitution
Declaration of the Commonwealth
Conducting the first Federal election
Who could vote?
The election campaign
9 May 1901
The royal visit
The first federal parliamentarians
Ministry of May, 1901
Edmund Barton
Political parties
Legislative program
Relationship between the houses

Members of the First Parliament


Print Friendly Version

Alfred Hugh Beresford Conroy

Alfred Hugh Beresford Conroy (1863-1920)

Member for Werriwa (New South Wales) 1901-1906 and 1913-14


Born in Camden, New South Wales, Alfred Conroy was educated in Victoria and New South Wales and started his working life as a bank clerk while studying law. A licensed surveyor, he was called to the Bar in 1893. Conroy was a supporter of Sir Henry Parkes and federation, and was active in the Federal League in New South Wales.

In 1901 Conroy, a Freetrader, was elected to represent the federal seat of Werriwa in the House of Representatives at the first federal election. Conroy lost his seat at the elections of 1906, was returned for Werriwa for the Liberal Party in 1913, but was again defeated in the elections of 1914. He stood unsuccessfully for Federal Parliament on a number of other occasions: for the seat of Macquarie in 1910, Parramatta in 1917, and as an independent Senate candidate for New South Wales in 1919.

Conroy had farming and stock-raising pursuits on the Lachlan and Belabula Rivers, New South Wales.

previous | list of members | next