Commonwealth of Australia Coat of Arms
For Peace, Order and Good Government: The first Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia
Early proposals
Six colonies
Drafting a constitution
Declaration of the Commonwealth
Conducting the first Federal election
Who could vote?
The election campaign
9 May 1901
The royal visit
The first federal parliamentarians
Ministry of May, 1901
Edmund Barton
Political parties
Legislative program
Relationship between the houses

Members of the First Parliament

George Alexander Cruickshank

George Alexander Cruickshank (1853-1904)

Member for Gwydir (New South Wales) 1901-1903


George Cruickshank was born in Dubbo, New South Wales. He was educated at the Collegiate School, Bathurst and travelled extensively overseas before settling in the Inverell district, where he was a successful grazier. He represented Inverell in the New South Wales Legislative Assembly before entering the Federal Parliament.

Cruickshank, a Protectionist, was elected as the member for Gwydir in the House of Representatives in 1901 at the first federal election. Highly regarded for his dedication to his local area and constituents, Cruickshank retired from Parliament in 1903.

A generous man and philanthropist, Cruickshank died in Bowral in 1904.

previous | list of members | next