Commonwealth of Australia Coat of Arms
For Peace, Order and Good Government: The first Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia
Early proposals
Six colonies
Drafting a constitution
Declaration of the Commonwealth
Conducting the first Federal election
Who could vote?
The election campaign
9 May 1901
The royal visit
The first federal parliamentarians
Ministry of May, 1901
Edmund Barton
Political parties
Legislative program
Relationship between the houses

Members of the First Parliament

Charles Carty Salmon

Charles Carty Salmon (1860-1917)

Member for Laanecoorie (Victoria) 1901-1913, Grampians (Victoria) 1915-1917

Carty Salmon was born at Amherst, Victoria, and was educated in Melbourne. He studied medicine in Melbourne and Scotland, registered as a doctor in 1891 and entered practice in South Yarra. Salmon, a close personal and political friend of Alfred Deakin, became a member of the Victorian Legislative Assembly as an independent in 1893. Twice a minister, Salmon resigned his seat to contest the first federal election.  As President of the Australian Natives Association in 1898-99, Salmon actively campaigned for federation.

In 1901 Salmon, a Protectionist, was elected to represent the federal seat of Laanecoorie in the House of Representatives. Salmon was Chairman of Committees in the House of Representatives 1904-05.  In 1909 he became Speaker following the death of Sir Frederick Holder, and held the position until the election of April 1910.  Salmon lost his seat when the electorate of Laanecoorie was abolished in 1913, but was returned to the House of Representatives as the member for Grampians in 1915.

The sole medical practitioner in the first Parliament, Salmon did not continue his practice after election to Federal Parliament.  He died in office in September 1917.

previous | list of members | next