Commonwealth of Australia Coat of Arms
For Peace, Order and Good Government: The first Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia
Early proposals
Six colonies
Drafting a constitution
Declaration of the Commonwealth
Conducting the first Federal election
Who could vote?
The election campaign
9 May 1901
The royal visit
The first federal parliamentarians
Ministry of May, 1901
Edmund Barton
Political parties
Legislative program
Relationship between the houses

Members of the First Parliament

Members for Tasmania

<< Back to Map

Sir Edward Nicholas Coventry Braddon

Member for Tasmania 1901-1903

Member for Wilmot (Tasmania) 1903-1904

Lt. Col. Cyril St Clair Cameron

Senator for Tasmania 1901-1903 & 1907-1913

Donald Norman Cameron

Member for Tasmania 1901-1903

Member for Wilmot (Tasmania) 1904-1906

John Singleton Clemons

Senator for Tasmania 1901-1914

Henry Dobson

Senator for Tasmania 1901-1910

Sir Philip Oakley Fysh

Member for Tasmania 1901-1903

Member for Denison (Tasmania) 1903-1910

William Hartnoll

Member for Tasmania 1902-1903

John Henry Keating

Senator for Tasmania 1901-1923

James Macfarlane

Senator for Tasmania 1901-1910

David John O’Keefe

Senator for Tasmania 1901-1906, 1910-1914 & 1914-1920

Member for Denison 1922-1925

King O’Malley

Member for Tasmania 1901-1903

Member for Darwin (Tasmania) 1903-1917

William Guthrie Spence

Member for Darwin (Tasmania) 1917-1919

Frederick William Piesse

Member for Tasmania 1901-1902