Commonwealth of Australia Coat of Arms
For Peace, Order and Good Government: The first Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia
Early proposals
Six colonies
Drafting a constitution
Declaration of the Commonwealth
Conducting the first Federal election
Who could vote?
The election campaign
9 May 1901
The royal visit
The first federal parliamentarians
Ministry of May, 1901
Edmund Barton
Political parties
Legislative program
Relationship between the houses

Members of the First Parliament

Members for Western Australia

<< Back to Map

Hugh de Largie

Senator for Western Australia 1901-1923

Norman Kirkwood Ewing

Senator for Western Australia 1901-1903

Sir John Forrest

Member for Swan (Western Australia) 1901-1918

James Mackinnon Fowler

Member for Perth (Western Australia) 1901-1922

Edward Augustine St Aubyn Harney

Senator for Western Australia 1901-1903

John Waters Kirwan

Member for Kalgoorlie (Western Australia) 1901-1903

Hugh Mahon

Member for Coolgardie (Western Australia) 1901-1913

Member for Kalgoorlie (Western Australia) 1913-1917 & 1919-1920

Alexander Perceval Matheson

Senator for Western Australia 1901-1906

George Foster Pearce

Senator for Western Australia 1901-1938

Miles Staniforth Cater Smith

Senator for Western Australia 1901-1906

Elias Solomon

Member for Fremantle (Western Australia) 1901-1903